World Hurdle Tipping Competition: Final Scores

Tipping Cup Winner

Tipping Cup Winner

The races have been run, the scores have been counted, (some of) the errors in my maths have been detected... and we have a winner!

After five days, and ten races, just 0.27 points separated the trail-blazing French Freddy and his 'on the line' vanquisher, Tony Derrick. In this cruellest of cruel contests, winner takes all, and to the victor the spoils.

The victor is Tony Derrick, whose impressive haul of 20.5 points was comprised from four winners at odds of 12/1, 5/1 twice and 9/2.

It will be scant consolation to French Freddy that a nomination of the jolly in the last would have nabbed the prize. But then, that's not how he had scaled the podium so fair play for a great effort. Insult was added to injury by the fact that Freddy had the second placed horse, at 6/1, in the final race.

Krish Kumar pursued them valiantly, and the first winner this afternoon at 5/1 put him right in the fight. But unfortunately for Krish, Regal Approach, couldn't finish the job.

Honourable mentions in the outrights to Mike 'mallrats', Denis Hatcher, Martin Ling, Daithi, Phil Dawber, Ray Clubbe, and Chris Vaughan, who rounded out the top ten, in that order.

On the day doubles were achieved by Bob Smith, Kendot, and Martin Ling - great work, I hope you backed them accordingly!

Finally, well done to ALL of you for taking part - over 220 at the start of the week, and still 120 at the end - and for making it a lot of fun. 56 of you managed a positive score on the week which, considering I deliberately tried to pick tough races, was no mean feat.

So, that's it for the first of our tipping competitions. There will be a new one next week, with luck, and we've got some nice bookie bet prizes to doll out.

The full tale of the tape is below. Apologies if I've not credited you with a non-runner somewhere along the way. Rest assured, I would have done if it was material to the overall finishing positions.

Have a great weekend, and look out for my next invitation on Sunday night!



Tony Derrick5-14.5-1-112-1-15-120.5
French Freddy-134.5-110-10.737-1-120.23
Krish Kumar-1-1-1-1-1120.7375-118.73
Mike mallrats-1-1-17-1120.73-1-12.2515.98
Denis Hatcher-1-14.5-110-1-17-1-114.5
Martin Ling-1-14.5-1-1-10.73752.2514.48
Phil Dawber5-1-1-110-1-1-15-113
Ray Clubbe5-1-17-1-1-17-1-112
Chris Vaughan-1-14.5-1-1-10.7375-111.23
Chris A5-1-1-1-1120.73-1-1-110.73
Phil Morley-1-1-1-110-10.737-1-110.73
Michael Fell5-1-1-1-1-1-175-110
Joe Say-1-14.5-110-1-1-1-12.259.75
Derrick Wood-1-1-17-1-1-17-12.259.25
Mark Johnson-1-1-17-1-1-17-12.259.25
Martin Fanning-1-1-17-1-1-17-12.259.25
Graham Ashford-1-1-1710-1-1-1-1-19
John Spencer-1-1-1-110-1-17-1-19
Steve Brown-1-1-1710-1-1-1-1-19
Ken Kennedy-13-1-1-1120.73-1-1-18.73
Paul Vicin53-1-1-1-1-17-1-18
Lee Altenor-1-1-1-110-1-1-15-17
Robert Stretch-1-14.5-110-1-1-1-1-16.5
Simon French-1-1-17-1-1-17-1-16
James Dickson5-1-17-1-10.73-1-1-15.73
Bob Smith5-1-1-1-1-1-1-152.255.25
Joe Quirke-13-1-1-1-1-17-12.255.25
David Walker-1-14.57-1-10.73-1-1-15.23
Steve Morris-1-14.57-1-10.73-1-1-15.23
Ian Stanley5-14.5-1-1-1-1-1-12.254.75
Brian Armstrong5-1-17-1-1-1-1-1-14
Dave Tink5-1-17-1-1-1-1-1-14
Dave Turner5-1-1-1-1-1-17-1-14
Gavin Priestley5-1-17-1-1-1-1-1-14
John Murphy-1-1-17-1-1-1-15-14
Richard pbarlow-1-1-17-1-1-1-15-14
Ronnie Combo5-1-17-1-1-1-1-1-14
David topmandj-1-14.57-1-1-1-1-1-13.5
David Wagstaff-1-14.57-1-1-1-1-1-13.5
Geoff Edwards-1-1-1-1-112-1-1-1-13
Henry G-1-1-1-1-112-1-1-1-13
Iain MacMillan-1-1-1-1-112-1-1-1-13
Ian Barber-1-1-1-1-112-1-1-1-13
The Monk-1-1-1-1-112-1-1-1-13
Tim R-1-1-1-1-112-1-1-1-13
Ian Sumner-13-1-1-1-1-17-1-12
Adam Stevens50-1-1-1-10.73-1-12.251.98
Glenn Hussey-134.5-1-1-10.73-1-1-11.23
David Green-1-1-1-110-1-1-1-1-11
Peter Crilley-1-1-1-110-1-1-1-1-11
Mark Worthington53-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-10
Denis Confrey-134.5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-0.5
Noel McPartland-134.5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-0.5
Terry Morey-134.5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-0.5
Andy Ace Racing-1-107-1-1-1-1-1-1-1
Ian Winfield50-1-1-1-10.73-1-1-1-1.27
Brian Ker-1-1-17-1-1-1-1-1-1-2
Chris Baker-1-1-17-1-1-1-1-1-1-2
Derek Pearson-1-1-17-1-1-1-1-1-1-2
Dion Penston-1-1-17-1-1-1-1-1-1-2
Joe O Hare-1-1-1-1-1-1-17-1-1-2
John Begg-1-1-17-1-1-1-1-1-1-2
Ken Andrews-1-1-17-1-1-1-1-1-1-2
Lawrence Hammond-1-1-17-1-1-1-1-1-1-2
Mike Burch-1-1-17-1-1-1-1-1-1-2
Nigel clevertrever-1-1-17-1-1-1-1-1-1-2
Rusko Pete-1-1-1-1-1-1-17-1-1-2
Tony York-1-1-17-1-1-1-1-1-1-2
Joselito Barradas-1-1-1-1-1-10.73-15-1-2.27
Harold White-1-14.5-1-1-10.73-1-1-1-2.77
Terence Anthony-1-14.5-1-1-10.73-1-1-1-2.77
Kevin Hives50-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-3
Matt P50-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-3
Tony Cox50-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-3
Andy hughonthehill5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4
Bill Parsons-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-15-1-4
Bob Gates5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4
Chris Worrall5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4
David Groves5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4
Justin Griggs5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4
Ken Mason5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4
Mike D5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4
Mike Fleming5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4
Paul Lynch5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4
Paul Monaghan5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4
Richard Clane5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4
Sam Keeping5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4
Simon Marriott-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-15-1-4
Arfor Williams-1-14.5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4.5
Dave Huxford-1-14.5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4.5
Douglas Burbery-1-14.5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4.5
Gary msjm-1-14.5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4.5
Iain Anderson-1-14.5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4.5
Michael Donkin-1-14.5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4.5
Mike A-1-14.5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4.5
Puerto Rico Gary-1-14.5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4.5
Robert Hartley-1-14.5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4.5
Robert Henderson-1-14.5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4.5
Ste Stel-1-14.5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4.5
Step acrefare-1-14.5-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4.5
John Doland-1-1-1-1-1-10.73-1-12.25-5.02
Andy Howat-13-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-6
Chris James-13-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-6
Flip Flop-13-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-6
Gary bfd-13-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-6
Jim Wynn-13-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-6
Mark B-13-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-6
Mick DD-13-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-6
Paul Maiden-13-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-6
Peter Lamont-13-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-6
Robert Grubb-13-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-6
Steve Barber-13-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-6
NW Racing-10-1-1-1-10.73-1-1-1-7.27
Eddie Flynn-1-1-1-1-1-10.73-1-1-1-8.27
Rex di Noci-1-1-1-1-1-10.73-1-1-1-8.27
7 replies
  1. FrenchFreddy says:

    A big thank you Matt for the competition and for all the time it must have taken to administer, well done. I got whacked on the run in, but nothing new there !! Hearty congratulations to the winner Tony Derrick for a brilliant week of tipping and to all of you for taking part. it really has made my week most interesting. Looks as though there were 13 entrants with a ROI of over 100%, an amazing feat. See you all in the next one, Regards Tim

  2. Krish says:

    Great Work from Horseracing enthusiasts and Tipsters.A Big Thank you to Matt B for organising this competition and Congratulations to Tony Derrick.

  3. Chris A says:

    I want to echo Tim’s comments, great fun and a great effort on your behalf Matt, many many thanks. Another reason why geegeez is simply the best site around with no comparison.

    Cheers, Chris

  4. Dunc says:

    Great competition Matt. Sorry I couldnt join due to being
    At work and not able to view the selected races. I know
    It must be hard work to organise bit would love
    to have a go at maybe a Saturday naps comp, well done all

  5. Mike A says:

    Can’t take part every day, but what a great idea you had Matt. Congratulations to Tony and all who took part. Nice to see that the geegeez site doesn’t stand still…

  6. Derrick Wood says:

    Good Morning Matt, Previous comments say it all, a very interesting week and for someone who has a bet for the fun of it with winnings a bonus then Thank you again, I look forward to the next competition, Well done Tony Derrick (Its all in the name !!!)

Comments are closed.