2010: A Look Forward (Sneak Preview)

Janus: looking forwards, not back...

Janus: looking forwards, not back...

The end of December, dear reader, is traditionally a time of contemplation. Protracted consideration is given to the previous twelve months as that annus heaves and sighs its last breaths.

But, as the twin-headed Janus reminds us as we hurtle headlong and inevitably into January, it may be far more worthwhile looking forwards, to 2010. So that's exactly what I propose to do, with a sneak preview into what you can expect in the months ahead here at Geegeez...

January 2010: Geegeez continues its look forward to the big Cheltenham Festival, with previews of the World Hurdle and Triumph Hurdle. Further system trials are posted to the blog, including the results of an extremely interesting forex 'robot', called the Megadroid.

Perhaps most exciting for Irish readers is the launch of a brand new website dedicated to racing in Ireland, called... well, you'll have to wait just a couple more days to find out what it's called and where it lives! 😉 (Sorry)

February 2010: Further Cheltenham previews proliferate, as well as the usual system testing action. The Irish site is proving hugely popular, as are the race previews, systems reviews, and editorial from yours truly and others.

A new laying service from a familiar name is launched...

March 2010: March is going to be a 'Bobby Dazzler' bumper month, with the National Hunt crescendo of Cheltenham interspersed with my big personal project for 2010: training. Next year, I'm going to be offering to share what I've learned about making money online with a (very) few of you. This won't be for everyone, and it won't be cheap. But it will offer the serious - and supported - prospect of making a break for freedom in 2010. I will be making it 'no brainer' simple for a lucky few who are interested in getting started on their own business next year, and it'll start soon after the final dramas of Cleeve Hill have been acted out on the greatest of all equine stages.

April 2010: The flat season is once more upon us. Too much to ask that we might bear witness to another 'Sea The Stars', but there will be many stars to see in any case. And, of course, there will be many winners to be found. Flat Racing Profiles will return, endeavouring to match its exceptional rate of return from the 2009 season (46.8 points profit). This one will form the cornerstone of many a successful betting portfolio.

Before all that, though, there's the small matter of the Grand National. It's a race that - 2009's bomb aside - has been very kind to readers of Geegeez (and NagNagNag before that), and I'll be very hopeful of nailing the gold medallist in a preview post.

May 2010: The Classics are upon us once more. Ireland will probably win the 2000 Guineas, as they have done in six fo the last eight years. The 1000 Guineas tends to offer more hope to the home team, with five of the last eight winners being UK-trained.

June 2010: The Derby and the Oaks will take centre stage, but the real juice will be two weeks later at Royal Ascot. The very pinnacle of flat racing in the UK, and so adroitly supported by all the pomp and ceremony that made this country what it is (deliberately ambiguous - read into it what you will!).

On a personal front, I'll be presenting a further training opportunity for anyone who wasn't able to sign up for the first session in March.

July 2010: There's a good chance that I might take a holiday! Of course, that doesn't mean that things will stop emanating from the Geegeez pipeline. There will be plenty of news and reviews of the Summer Festivals, pick of which may be Newmarket's July jolly-up.

Your first 30 days for just £1

August 2010: My other new website should be up and bouncing by now. I can't say too much at this stage, largely because there isn't too much to say (!). But the site will relate to non-sporting opportunities, in the 'make money' field. I'm talking here about foreign exchange trading (forex), share dealing, commodities, biz opps, and the like. I have first hand knowledge of some of these, and will be employing guest writers to articulate on those about which my knowledge is insufficient.

If this isn't for you, don't fret. You'll hear about it at launch time, and probably never again (unless you register to receive updates, naturally). There are myriad investment opportunities out there and, just like with horse racing systems, there's a few decent ones and a few outstanding ones, and a bulging morass of effluent in between. My job (and that of my fellow article writers) will be to sort the genuine opps from the charlatan tosh.

September 2010: The St Leger, and the start of National Hunt 'winter' racing, will be the focus of attention on the track. Elsewhere, there will be a final opportunity to start your own online biz (at least, if you want my help and support), and we'll be staring down the barrel of another TrainerTrackStats extravaganza.

Geegeez will also mark its second birthday, and there will doubtless be something fitting (and free) by way of a celebration.

October 2010: My birthday, on the 18th, will doubtless be a time of navel-gazing and other generally futile and distressing self-assessment. Aside from that, the Champions meeting at Newmarket will provide an encore to Europe's Grand Finale, the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe 2010 weekend in Paris. Who will conquer all to don the mantle left on the peg by a certain Sea The Stars?

November 2010: The Breeders Cup will move to Kentucky, specifically Churchill Downs, in the first weekend of November. The Euro's will be there and, deities willing, so will I, for what will be another cracking 'coming together' of the best of both sides of the pond.

The jumps season will also be into full swing, with the early salvos being sounded by Cheltenham pretenders and protagonists alike. The highlight might be Denman bidding to shoulder forty-two stone (or whatever weight gives the others a chance) and administer a beating to his younger, lighter rivals to claim a third Hennessey Gold Cup.

December 2010: Mistletoe, Christmas pressies, too much food, snogging someone who isn't your partner. There's much to avoid in the season of goodwill, and if none of the above get you, there will doubtless be another barrage of inhuman scumbags online bidding to separate you from a few of your seasonal shekels with one 'magic bullet' system or another. I'll continue to assist where I can in the quest to steer our collective sensibilities toward the path of profitability, and away from the siren song of so many charlatan peddlers. Regarding the office Christmas party, and mistletoe moments, you're on your own!

********

Whatever you've got planned for New Year's Eve celebrations, have a wonderful time; savour the company of those with whom you've chosen to spend the time; and, most of all, stay safe and well (hangover notwithstanding, of course!)

See you in 2010...

Matt

17 replies
  1. Paul Whelan says:

    All the best for 2010 Matt. Great post. Are you back here in the cold and wet again? Looks like the sun on your back has charged the creative batteries, and you’re going to be the Duracell Bunny of the online horse racing world this year. Good man!

    Did you get to Kempton? KS was awesome… I was watching the big screen opposite the stands after he crossed the line, waiting to see if Barber Shop would make the frame as my brother had him each way, and we thought the screen had froze it seemed to take so long before the next horse came into shot! Outstanding.

    Thanks for all your efforts in 2009.

    “It’s not IF… it’s WHEN… in 2010”

    Paul

    • Matt Bisogno says:

      Hi Paul

      Thanks for the good wishes, mate, which of course are heartily reciprocated. Looking forward to our first brainstorming session (aka beer up in the Prince Albert) of the New Year!

      Matt

      p.s. Regarding Kauto, impressive, but let’s not forget that Barbers Shop was getting a stone and four pounds from Denman when beaten seven lengths. He was level weights with Kauto. Moreover, What A Friend, who received over a stone and a half and was beaten in that race, went on to win the Lexus Chase, seeing off the pick of the Irish. Denman for me, all the way!

  2. Sam says:

    Hi Matt, i have just found geegeez quite recently and you do a tremondous job with it, you are a nothing short of a great writer, perhaps a novelist in a past life. Your preview for “o” 10 was great and no doubt it will fly like those before, have a good new years eve celebration and i hope i can maybe work with you in the future

    • Matt Bisogno says:

      That’s very kind Sam. Wishing you a great New Year, and I’m sure there will be opportunities aplenty as 2010 bids us welcome.
      Matt

  3. Paul Whelan says:

    Well, I will lay that bet Sir! Let’s just hope they (all) get to Prestbury Park in good health come March.

  4. ron.goodall says:

    to matt
    all the best for 2010 enjoy your site i do hope we can take some
    money off those bleedin hearts bookies looking forward to gold cup
    arkle and mill house where titans i was lucky to be around to see arkle run i backed mill house due to the present climate i wont be
    seeing the new titans kauto and denman perhaps 2011 i might has i will be ending for retirement savings kick in but i dont want to wish my life away regards ron

    • Matt Bisogno says:

      Thanks for the good wishes Ron – we’ll all be looking to Cheltenham in March and if KS and Denman get there, as well as What A Friend, we might be looking at a second Gold Cup 1-2-3 for Mr Nicholls.

      Matt

  5. Mike Brennan says:

    Hi Matt
    Great blog as usual. But, you must have watched a different KGV to me. KS was absoloutely awesome. Don’t forget, all the horses beaten were G1 or 2 animals. A 36 length victory says it all. Yes ‘The Tank’ is a good/great horse, but Kauto is, in my opinion, and many ‘experts with more knowledge than me, the greatest ever. I am so pleased to be able to watch him live when he’s at his peak. A group of us are booked into the Best Mate stand at Cheltenham for the Thursday and Friday at Cheltenham in March. I must say, i am getting goose bumps already. Have a great year Matt, happy punting, here’s good luck to all of us….cheers
    Mike

  6. Richard says:

    Happy New Year Matt,
    Thanks for a great blog. You always manage to keep it interesting and its wonderful to see the obvious enthusiasm you have to keep it successful through the next year. I Cant wait.

    Allow me to through in a little idea for you to chew over. As we are at the start of a new year and as we know our sport never stays the same for 5 minutes at a time how about constructing a calendar of systems to aid our betting throughout the year. For example Hunter Chases are due in Feb, anyone got a little system for them? then after Chelter’s theres the end of term jumping, early season flat, early 2yo’s etc, etc, you get the picture, must be a little system for all of them, say about 1-2 each month? Could be fun to follow their fortunes and fill the gaps between your big race trending.
    As always a Kauto fan.
    Take care
    Richard

  7. Bruce says:

    Hi All

    Sorry Mike but Arkle was on another level.

    The Jockey Club handicapper had to set two sets of weights in the big handicaps, with or without Arkle. At same time Flyinbolt was deemed to be within a few pounds of “himself”. Almost every other horse was on bottom weight.

    I may be biased but Arkle did pay for,in1966, a not cheap engagement ring, by winning the Whitbread Gold Cup at Sandown Park.

    We are still together. !!!!!

    Bruce.

  8. David Dickinson says:

    Matt
    Just wanted to say thanks for the years worth of interest you have given.
    As always a great deal of sense and a great deal of amusement to read/watch etc
    All the best Matt and heres to the new year
    May it be the best year you could ever wish for.
    Cheers
    David

  9. David Aston says:

    Happy New Year Matt to one and all (and of course yourself)!

    Was absolutely amazed at how KS won blowing away a supposedly quality field like that – did not watch live as was being entertained elsewhere.

    Cant wait for next instalment of Denman vs Kauto Star at Cheltenham in March – I predict it will be a real humdinger!

  10. kevin hogan says:

    have a great new year matt, many thanks for your outstanding blog. the gold cup well a race to savour,i think AP will be riding denman,which should really bring it to another level. the two best horses and jockeys ,AWSOME. kevin

  11. Dave S says:

    Well Amtt- thanks for all your blogs during the year and here is to a good 2010 for all of us.

  12. lockerdave says:

    MATT HAVE A GREAT NEW YEAR AND HOPEFULLY A VERY SUCCESFUL 2010 THANKS FOR ALL YOUR EFFORTS THROUGHOUT 2009 AND KEEP UP THE EXCELLENT WORK THAT YOU DO ENABLING US TO TAKE MONEY OFF THE BOOKIES

    REGARDS

  13. General says:

    Happy New Year and a profitable one please to all followers of here. Hope all goes well.
    Briefly on the Kauto v Denman debate. For me, Nicholls now knows how to get the best out of both horses.
    Denman would never have won the King George by 36l as Kempton does not suit him and vice versa Kauto I do not think would have won the Hennessy under top weight as Newbury plays to Denmans strengths.
    For me its a toss up and at the prices Im a Denman man. Who will ride him though??

Comments are closed.