Placepot Pointers

Placepot Pointers, 5th February 2015


Last year’s corresponding toteplacepot dividend:

2015: N/A - Meeting abandoned


1.20: The two winners in the field should dominate proceedings, casting aside the weight they have to give their four rivals.  OUR THOMAS is marginally preferred to course and distance winner JALEO given that the selection is seemingly ten pounds superior (according to the official assessor) and yet at the time of writing, both the trade press and the exchanges have Jaleo as the market leader.
Favourite factor: All six favourites have claimed toteplacepot positions via three gold and three silver medals.

Catterick record of course winners in the opening event:

1/1--Jaleo (C&D winner)


1.50: The nine represented trainers 'boast' a ratio of 3/42 during the last fortnight or at least they did, before Thursday's sport was contested.  That being the case, confidence is not at an all time high and on a weak Friday of sport, I'll simply offer a tentative trio of DISCOVERIE, BENNYLICIOUS and MONEY FOR NOTHING against the other seven contenders.
Favourite factor: Last year's inaugural 5/2 favourite finished last of the four finishers in a five runner (short field) contest.


2.25: Plenty of Sue Smith raiders are making the frame of late if not actually winning their races, whereby RED DANAHER is the first name on the team sheet, from a toteplacepot perspective at least.  Danny Cook has made giant strides in the saddle this season and with RED DANAHER having gained his only victory on soft ground thus far (via 11 assignments), Sue's Shantou representative should give investors a decent run for their collective monies.  AULDTHUNDER and TRELIVER MANOR are feared most.
Favourite factor: This is a new race on the Catterick card.

Catterick record of course winners in the third contest on the card:

1/4--Auldthunder (C&D winner)

2/6--Over And Above (Dual C&D winner)

1/4--Runswick Relax


2.55: All six winners have carried weights of 11-4 or less whereby I am concentrating on the bottom six horses in the handicap at the overnight stage, taking a potential jockey claim into the equation.  Six-year-olds lead the eight-year-olds 3-2 via six renewals and putting the stats and facts together produces a short list of TAMBURA, MAGGIE BLUE and OMID, the three horses being listed in order of preference at the overnight stage.
Favourite factor: Two of the six favourites have claimed toteplacepot positions (one 7/4 winner).

Catterick record of course winners in the fourth race:



3.25: Five-year-olds have won five of the six renewals to date thought this year's vintage representatives (PRETTY MISS MAHLER and JUST LIKE DYLAN) appear to have plenty to do on paper.  Form lines deceive us on a daily basis however, whereby I will probably stick to my 'anorak tendencies' from a Placepot perspective, adding DOUBLE W'S into the mix.
Favourite factor: Four of the six favourites have secured toteplacepot positions, statistics whilst include one (5/4) winner.


4.00: Seven-year-olds have won three of the last six renewals of the toteplacepot finale and THE COBBLER SWAYNE looks to have been well placed to maintain the recent run of results.  Connections of each way types such as RAKTIMAN and REAR ADMIRAL should sleep easily enough with prize money there for the taking, albeit the main swag will probably escape their respective clutches.

Favourite factor: Five of the nine favourites have finished in the money via seven contests, statistics which includes two (7/2 & 11/4) winners.

Catterick record of course winners in the toteplacepot finale:

3/3--Cloudy Joker (C&D winner)

1/2--Rear Admiral

Your first 30 days for just £1


All references to placed horses on these pages are based on an exact science regarding general place terms offered by bookmakers and


Trainers with their relevant number of runners on the Catterick card on Friday:

7--Donald McCain

5--Micky Hammond

4--Sue Smith

3--Kenneth Slack

2--Harriet Bethell

2--George Bewley

2--Rose Dobbin

2--Mick Easterby

2--Tim Easterby

2--Lucinda Egerton

2--Martin Todhunter

2--Barry Murtagh

2--Jonjo O'Neill

2--Michael Smith

2--Martin Todhunter

2--John Wade

2--Mark Walford

2--Simon Waugh

1--Chris Bealby

1--George Charlton

1--David Dennis

1--Sam Drake

1--Brian Ellison

1--James Eustace

1--Chris Fairhurst

1--John Ferguson

1--Joanne Foster

1--Henry Hogarth

1--Tina Jackson

1--Malcolm Jefferson

1--Godfrey Maundrell

1--Lucinda Russell

1--Dianne Sayer

1--Donald Whillans

63 declared runners


Your first 30 days for just £1