Lucrative Portfolio (WIN) Review

Lucrative Portfolio Review

Lucrative Portfolio Review

Lucrative Portfolio (WIN) Review

Our review of LP's WIN Bets

As per Matt's introduction to Lucrative Portfolio, this is where we'll be reviewing the straight win bets angle of the service.

Lucrative Portfolio, has been several years of testing, tweaking and live betting in the making. But what exactly is Lucrative Portfolio?

What IS Lucrative Portfolio?

When I first saw the sales page for this, I have to admit, I didn't especially like it. It certainly is not to my tastes, with its bold claims of generating more profit than the national average salary.

Now, let me be clear. I'm not suggesting those claims aren't true. On the contrary. It's just that, well, we've all read that sort of thing a hundred times before...

Anyway, I quizzed Michael a bit more on his portfolio, and he was good enough to share the following insight with me:

Each strategy involves a mechanised element i.e core system rules, alongside analysis of value which I've developed from an odds compilation method (I remember you've previously read my 'create your own odds' guide, which was a simplified version of this).

Since the place / lay strategies are now advised to be bet at Betfair SP, there's also an element involving looking at market moves / likely trends in order to find value at BSP.

So, in a nutshell, Michael starts with a set of 'rules', but then uses complex value judgement techniques to arrive at the final selections.

His previous track record suggests he's pretty good at this.

The service consists of a daily combination of win, place and lay selections - on average two to three per day - and members simply log in to the exclusive members' area from 9am on the day of racing to pick up the tips.

How has Lucrative Portfolio performed?

As you can see, Michael is a smart guy, and he has a proven track record with his earlier services. But how has Lucrative Portfolio performed up to now?

Since the start of 2014, the Portfolio has recorded 727 winners from 1,403 bets, a strike rate of just over 50%. That means there are no long losing runs, and so this might be ideal for those who can become unsettled by five or six bets without a winner.

At level stakes of £10 per bet, the Portfolio is claimed to have yielded £8,495 since the start of 2014, at a return on investment of 18.38%

Michael's personal modus operandi is compounded stakes - using a percentage of bank approach - and, adopting that strategy since inception would have converted in over 3,000 points profit!

A word of caution here: compounding with a successful service can quickly lead to quite large bets. So, while the headline figures are very sexy, it makes more sense in this kind of situation to take money out and, well, enjoy it!

It is also important to note that these are claimed results of a service that is new to the market as of now, so I cannot vouch for them. However, I know Michael well enough to be confident the numbers are as good as he says they are.

What is the deal with Lucrative Portfolio?

Lucrative Portfolio is a tipping service, delivered via a password-protected members' area. The tips are online by 9am each morning for the day's racing.

You can subscribe for your first month for just £7, which gives you plenty of time to get up to speed, have a look around, and see if this is for you.

After that, you can choose to subscribe quarterly or annually, with a hefty saving for the longer term subscription. As with all such services, long-term is the way to go in my opinion.

Today's bets are in the members' area now, and you can get read more/get involved here.

James Cross will now record/report the results from this service for the next 60 betting days, recording his results to a £10 level stake settled at advised BOG odds.

Chris Worrall

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Review Results

LP (WIN) Day 1, 25/09/15

2.20 Worcester : Network Rouge @ 11/1 BOG u/p at 13/2

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 0/1 (0.00% SR) = -£10.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 2, 26/09/15

3.50 Newmarket : Portage @ 8/1 BOG u/p at 9/2

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 0/2 (0.00% SR) = -£20.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 3, 28/09/15

3.40 Bath : Glance My Way @ 10/1 BOG u/p at 8/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 0/3 (0.00% SR) = -£30.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 4, 29/09/15

4.25 Ayr : Pettochside @ 7/1 BOG u/p at 7/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 0/4 (0.00% SR) = -£40.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 5, 30/09/15

2.30 Chepstow : Adrenalin Flight  @ 12/1 BOG u/p at 8/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 0/5 (0.00% SR) = -£50.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 6, 01/10/15

4.10 Beverley : Stormin Tom @ 25/1 e/w BOG u/p at 12/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 0/6 (0.00% SR) = -£60.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 7, 02/10/15

4.15 Hexham : Tantamount @ 7/1 BOG u/p at 7/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 0/7 (0.00% SR) = -£70.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 8, 03/10/15

3.45 Ascot : Outback Traveller @ 10/1 BOG u/p at 8/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 0/8 (0.00% SR) = -£80.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 9, 05/10/15

2.35 Pontefract : Kassia @ 12/1 BOG WON at 9/1

Daily Result : 1/1 = +£120.00
Overall : 1/9 (11.11% SR) = +£40.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 10, 06/10/15

1.50 Brighton : Last Star Falling @ 12/1 BOG 3rd at 7/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 1/10 (10.00% SR) = +£30.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 11, 07/10/15

3.15 Ludlow : King Massini @ 7/1 BOG u/p at 4/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 1/11 (9.09% SR) = +£20.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 12, 08/10/15

3.30 Exeter : Whats Left @ 8/1 BOG WON at 4/1

Daily Result : 1/1 = +£80.00
Overall : 2/12 (16.67% SR) = +£100.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 13, 09/10/15

3.45 Newmarket : Al Non Runner

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 14, 10/10/15

3.25 York : Robot Boy at 20/1 BOG u/p at 16/1 

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 2/13 (15.39% SR) = +£90.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 15, 11/10/15

No selections today.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 15, 12/10/15

3.00 Windsor : Chica Rapida at 11/1 BOG u/p at 14/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 2/14 (14.29% SR) = +£80.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 16, 13/10/15

5.00 Musselburgh : Makhfar at 8/1 BOG u/p at 15/2

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 2/15 (13.33% SR) = +£70.00

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 17, 14/10/15

2.40 Wetherby : Kilgefin Star at 9/1 BOG u/p at 16/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 2/16 (12.50% SR) = +£60.00

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 18, 15/10/15

4.05 Uttoxeter : Monderon at 11/1 BOG u/p at 6/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 2/17 (11.76% SR) = +£50.00

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 19, 16/10/15

2.35 Haydock : Mass Rally at 12/1 BOG 4th at 14/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 2/18 (11.11% SR) = +£40.00

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 20, 17/10/15

3.05 Ascot : Fascinating Rock at 16/1 BOG WON at 10/1

Daily Result : 1/1 = +£160.00
Overall : 3/19 (15.79% SR) = +£200.00

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 21, 19/10/15

5.40 Pontefract : One Boy at 12/1 BOG u/p at 7/2

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 3/20 (15.00% SR) = +£190.00

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 22, 20/10/15

3.30 Lingfield : La Cuesta at 9/1 BOG u/p at 8/1

Daily Result: 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 3/21 (14.29% SR) = +£180.00

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 23, 21/10/15

2.00 Newmarket : Whitecliff Park at 14/1 BOG u/p at 9/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 3/22 (13.64% SR) = +£170.00

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Your first 30 days for just £1

LP (WIN) Day 24, 22/10/15

4.25 Carlisle : Indepub each way at 16/1 BOG u/p at 8/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 3/23 (13.04% SR) = +£160.00

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 25, 23/10/15

3.20 Cheltenham : Dark Spirit at 8/1 BOG WON at 11/1

Daily Result : 1/1 = +£110.00
Overall : 4/24 (16.67% SR) = +£270.00

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 26, 24/10/15

3.45 Doncaster : Mengli Khan at 7/1 BOG u/p at 8/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 4/25 (16.00% SR) = +£260.00

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 27, 26/10/15

3.10 Redcar : Rock Of Max at 8/1 BOG 3rd at 10/1

Daily Result: 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 4/26 (15.39% SR) = +£250.00

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 28, 27/10/15

1.10 Catterick : Card High at 7/1 BOG WON at 8/1

Daily Result : 1/1 = +£80.00
Overall : 5/27 (18.52% SR) = +£330.00

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 29, 28/10/15

3.50 Nottingham : Magnolia Ridge at 8/1 BOG u/p at 11/2

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 5/28 (17.86% SR) = +£320.00

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 30, 29/10/15

1.30 Sedgefield : Fly Home Harry at 8/1 BOG 3rd at 4/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 5/29 (17.24% SR) = +£310.00

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 31, 30/10/15

2.35 Newmarket : Moonrise Landing at 14/1 BOG WON at 9/1

Daily Result : 1/1 = +£140.00
Overall : 6/30 (20.00% SR) = +£450.00

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 32, 31/10/15

3.25 Ascot : Houblon Des Obeaux at 14/1 BOG u/p at 10/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/31 (19.35% SR) = +£440.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 33, 2/11/15

3.50 Ludlow : Truckers Highway at 11/1 BOG fell at 9/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/32 (18.75% SR) = +£430.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 34, 3/11/15

3.20 Exeter : Big Society at 10/1 BOG u/p at 7/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/33 (18.18% SR) = +£420.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 35, 4/11/15

3.40 Warwick : Sergeant Dick at 10/1 BOG u/p at 10/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/34 (17.65% SR) = +£410.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 36, 5/11/15

2.15 Market Rasen : Big Sound at 14/1 BOG u/p at 9/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/35 (17.14% SR) = +£400.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 37, 6/11/15

2.50 Hexham : Mia Matriarch at 12/1 BOG u/p at 12/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/36 (16.67% SR) = +£390.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 38, 7/11/15

1.50 Doncaster : Highland Colori at 20/1 BOG u/p at 20/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/37 (16.22% SR) = +£380.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 39, 9/11/15

3.25 Carlisle : Dream Flyer at 12/1 BOG u/p at 8/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/38 (15.79% SR) = +£370.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 40, 10/11/15

3.10 Huntingdon : Philharmonic Hall at 12/1 BOG u/p at 16/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/39 (15.38% SR) = +£360.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 41, 11/11/15

2.00 Bangor : Bob Ford at 16/1 BOG, u/p at 14/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/40 (15.00% SR) = +£350.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP  (WIN) Day 42, 12/11/15

12.20 Southwell : Staff Sergeant at 10/1 BOG u/p at 16/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/41 (14.63% SR) = +£340.00

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 43, 13/11/15

3.25 Cheltenham Argot at 28/1 BOG u/p at 25/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/42 (14.29% SR) = +£330.00

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 44, 14/11/15

2.05 Wetherby : Supreme Asset at 9/1 BOG u/p at 8/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/43 (13.95% SR) = +£320.00

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 45, 16/11/15

2.15 Leicester : Akula at 11/1 BOG u/p at 10/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/44 (13.64% SR) = +£310.00

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 46, 17/11/15

3.25 Lingfield : Tommys Geal at 8/1 BOG 3rd at 6/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/45 (13.33% SR) = +£300.00

------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 47, 18/11/15

2.20 Warwick : Murrayana at 12/1 BOG u/p at 16/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/46 (13.04% SR) = +£290.00

------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 48, 19/11/15

2.05 Market Rasen : Handiwork at 8/1 BOG 3rd at 6/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/47 (12.77% SR) = +£280.00

------------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 49, 20/11/15

3.50 Ascot : Rayvin Black at 11/1 BOG 2nd at 8/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/48 (12.50% SR) = +£270.00

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 50, 21/11/15

2.25 Haydock : Alcala at 12/1 BOG 4th at 10/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/49 (12.25% SR) = +£260.00

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 51, 23/11/15

3.55 Ludlow : Looks Like Power at 16/1 BOG 3rd at 10/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/50 (12.00% SR) = +£250.00

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 52, 24/11/15

1.50 Sedgefield Runswick Royal at 10/1 BOG 2nd at 7/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/51 (11.76% SR) = +£240.00

----------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 53, 25/11/15

2.45 Fontwell : Double Dan at 11/1 BOG 2nd at 6/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/52 (11.54% SR) = +£230.00

----------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 54, 26/11/15

2.45 Newbury : Sidbury Hill at 16/1 BOG u/p at 8/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 6/53 (11.32% SR) = +£220.00

----------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 55, 27/11/15

12.55 Newbury : Rouge Et Blanc at 8/1 BOG WON at 10/1

Daily Result : 1/1 = +£100.00
Overall : 7/54 (12.96% SR) = +£320.00

----------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 56, 28/11/15

3.35 Newbury : Whispering Harry at 14/1 BOG 2nd at 10/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 7/55 (12.73% SR) = +£310.00

----------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 57. 30/11/15

3.20 Kempton : Spirit Of Gondree at 11/1 BOG u/p at 8/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 7/56 (12.50% SR) = +£300.00

----------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 58, 01/12/15

3.40 Wolverhampton : Pactolus at 11/1 BOG WON at 8/1

Daily Result : 1/1 = +£110.00
Overall : 8/57 (14.04% SR) = +£410.00

----------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 59, 02/12/15

2.40 Ludlow : Kudu Country at 16/1 BOG fell at 14/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 8/58 (13.79% SR) = +£400.00

----------------------------------------------------------------------

LP (WIN) Day 60, 03/12/15

3.20 Leicester : Lean Burn at 12/1 BOG 3rd at 7/1

Daily Result : 0/1 = -£10.00
Overall : 8/59 (13.56% SR) = +£390.00

----------------------------------------------------------------------

This service is part of a package from Lucrative Trust, with lay and place selections also provided and being reviewed separately and concurrently.

There tends to be a win selection every day (other than Sundays which appear to be ignored by the service), whereas there are sometimes blank days for the place and lay selections so the win selections have reached the end of the 60 day review first.

It's difficult to be too dogmatic when reviewing what amounts to a "one a day" service over a period of 60 days because the sample size of selections is relatively small.

Nevertheless it has to be said that the win selections have performed remarkably well in this trial with 39 pts profit from 59 selections and an ROI of 66.1%.

This has been achieved from just a 13.56% strike rate with 8 winners from the 59 selections, and despite a run of 23 consecutive losers during the trial period.  Such a losing run may seem alarming over just 59 bets but a quick calculation shows that a losing run of up to 28 can be expected with this volume and strike rate (and that would increase to around 39 over a full year, assuming 300 selections with the same strike rate).

The vendor recommends staking 2% of the bank on each selection, with the bank being amended to reflect each result so it's basically a compounding approach.  I found little difference between the results from that approach and a level stake of 2% of starting bank during the trial. In fact you would have been around £9 better off from following the vendors approach if you started with £10 stakes on both. I guess the returns from the compounding approach would have been better if the winners had been more evenly spread but, as highlighted above, you can expect long losing runs with this strike rate. The compounding approach does go some way to protecting you against losing runs but equally you will be staking less on the winners once the run ends. For a level stake approach, the absolute minimum bank required for me would be double the expected annual LLR, so around 80 points. The cautious punter may well take the view that a 100 point bank would be desirable for 1 pt level stakes. As ever with staking it comes down to personal views of the level of risk that is acceptable to you.

It is important to be able to take the recommended prices, if possible with BOG, to maximise returns because the average price of their selections at recommended prices was 12.7 compared to 11.6 at SP and the average recommended price of the 8 winners  was 12.3 against an SP average of just 9.6.

As an illustration of the significance of the price taken, profits at recommended price with BOG were 39 pts, without BOG 33 pts and at SP just 18 pts. That profit at SP still equates to a very healthy 30.5% ROI but this game is all about maximising returns.

As mentioned previously, the service also provides lay and place selections and recommends following all 3 which hopefully smooths out losing runs. For anyone considering subscribing to the service on the basis of this review, I'd have to point out that the returns on the place and lay selections are nowhere near as impressive to date and in fact the place selections are currently showing a loss. There is no chance that either the place or lay selections  will achieve anywhere near the same level of returns as the wins have during their trial period, but you could sign up to the service and only back the win selections if you so desire. I certainly think the win selections are worthy of recommendation on their own.

The selections are available in the members section of the Lucrative Racing Trust website every day from around 9 am. It is important to be able to access the site as close to 9 am as possible for the win bets to be able to get on at the best prices as highlighted above.

I had a look at the history of results provided in the members are for the win bets.  There appears to have been a move towards bigger priced selections in recent times because the history of results going back to January 2013 shows a strike rate of over 21% but an ROI of only around 12% (admittedly this is using their staking plan). Unfortunately the results are in PDF format and I don't have time to do more analysis on them. I am nervous about making too strong a recommendation for a service that I have only reviewed for a period of 2 months and which may have modified, or be in the process of modifying, a selection process that has been successful over time.

Taking all this into account, I would award the Lucrative Racing Trust win selections a score of 4/5 and if the trial period results were replicated over a longer period, I'd have no hesitation in making that 5/5.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Your first 30 days for just £1
6 replies
  1. Andrew says:

    Hi folks,

    I am writing to give some feedback on the Daily Win Bets (Free) Service. I have written to Michael over at Lucrative & he did get back to me.

    First of all, I paper traded DWB (Free) for a couple of months & noticed that Geegeez were doing a trial, so i watched to see how it was fairing. I decided to take the plunge at the beginning of November, since it seemed to be doing rather well. Well like I said to Michael, timing is everything and I got in at the worst time ever. November has yet to produce a single winner out of 20 days so far and I am currently 20 days at £20 a point down (£800). But hey that is gambling not investing, right.

    Anyway the lost money is not a problem so far, what i can glean from the service is that apparently it boasts a 17.9% Strike Rate in the last year and from the figures this year, there have been 33 winners from 268 bets which is 12.31% SR. If we take November out of the equation the Strike Rate is a little better at 13.31%. Therefore this Strike Rate is currently in line with your trial.

    Another thing I have noticed is the Strike Rate was good for the first year as the odds were lower but have slowly but steadily increasing thus lowering the SR. If we put the formula
    =LN(A1)/(-LN(1-B1)) into a spreadsheet and use 248 as number of runs and 0.1336 as percentage we will get 38.60088979 as the maximum longest losing streak. It is actually 42.56157365 if we include November. The longest losing streak is 21 so far and a few months before that 19 in June, this year. Even with the advertised 17.9% strike rate over 621 runs the longest losing streak can be 32.6079214.

    So it seems to that if this service were to hit 2 really bad runs it has a high chance of ruin especially if you were using the 2% compound method.

    Anyway I will continue to chase my losses and hopefully will get my first winner from this service soon.

    Andrew

  2. Andrew says:

    Hi James Cross,

    Thanks for your review on Daily Win Bets. You cover most of the points I made in my first comment.

    I am using the the Free Service at the moment and the profits for that service are much lower than the Paid Service since the tips are given free after 11am not 9am. The profits for the Free Service to the end of November 2015 are around £1500-1600. This translates to about £500 a year or 25pts since 2pts is the standard bet. The profits for the Paid Service are around £3100-3200, which is around £1000-1100 a year,which is around 50 points a year again since the normal bet is 2pts. It also costs £200 a year (10pts) for the Paid Service, something I was initially thinking of doing before I realised I had to go almost a £1000 down before my first win and now we have had 2 wins from 33 bets (6.06%) and still over £500 down since the start of November.

    it’s a same that a tipster with a proven track record is allowing subscribers to go long periods of time without a win and call it investing. I am waiting to get my money back from the Free Service and will be looking to tipster with a higher strike rate.

    Andrew

  3. jamesfeeney says:

    I joined this in August and the win bet part of the membership was 50 quid for the year so after a trial period of a few weeks I was impressed enough to buy an annual subscription so I can access the bet at 9 am rather than 11.00 as this seems worthwhile. So far the service has impressed me it does exactly what it says on the tin. A number of losing runs in close succession would certainly bust your bank but despite the losing runs that were mentioned it seems very promising. I actually do them each way and find that the placed horses break up the losing streaks a little. The purist would not do this as it cuts ROI in the long run, however it provides sanity for punters during a month of losing bets

  4. Andrew says:

    Hi James Feeney,

    Thank you for your comments re the Win Bet. You must have got a discount or the price has gone up just after you joined as it is £49.95 for 3 months now not for the year as you state.

    And I agree doing the bets each way recently would certainly go a long way of breaking up the agonizing long periods of losses. There have been a handful of 2nd & 3rds so that would help, but there has been a fair share of bad finishes, fallers and pulled ups. That is to be expected since we are in jumps season. Michael does throw in the odd 25/1 and 33/1 each way sometimes, but alas they have yet to yield anything.

    And speaking of strike rates i think the website needs to be changed to reflect this as this is so misleading 17.1% when in the last year it is around 12.5%.

    When I wrote to Michael recently with concerns about the low strike rate, he did say that September and October were bumper months and things even out over time. The Geegeez timing was spot on when they did their trial and if they did the standard 2pts per bet in the 60 days they would only make £100-200 more for the rest of the year due to the higher than normal strike rate during the trial.

    This service sells itself as an investment not for gamblers but every bet is a gamble. I have gone 44pts almost 50% of my 100pt betting bank down to get my first winner, now I have had 2 winners from 36 (5.56% SR) and still a third of my bank down. The first winner took almost the whole of November to find and the next one at the 1st of December. If we go through the rest of December without a winner, my betting bank will be around 70% down then we get a winner and a long period in January of losses and then my £2000 is gone. That is not even a bad run. It is pretty standard when you are backing high odds contenders. So even if I manage to get out of this hole at say 300 days at £40 per day, I am expected to invest £12,000 just to get back £1000. I don’t think the headache is worth it. I can win a Bag of Sand in one hand of poker.

    Investors want slow steady profits with good strike rates.

    Andrew

    • jamesfeeney says:

      I agree with all your comments Andrew, it’s not an ideal service but perhaps one to have as part of a portfolio. The change to longer odds bets now means a lower strike rate and the punter thinks that the historical strike rate of 17%, or whatever it was, will be achieved with 10/1 winners, whereas that strike rate average was achieved with shorter priced winners so it is a little misleading and needs to be updated as you say.
      I have also found that on some days I can ignore the win bet and not do it at all based on my own judgement as some of the tips are to say the least a bit fanciful. one recently was a 14/1 shot in a 4 horse race with a very short fav and a second fav just behind it and the 14/1 had no form to speak of. Of course you are at risk of missing a big winner then but so far I’ve been ok, if you could dodge 3 or 4 every month it would help.
      I think the cost of the service increased at the same time as the trial on geegeez. Hopefully it’ll still be £50 for me next year! Hopefully I’ll still be doing the bets next year or maybe as you say the headache isn’t worth it but my ROI is about 14% in profit so I’ll stick with it for another while yet.

      • Andrew says:

        Hi James F,

        Thanks again for your insights. I think you have the measure of this service by backing each way & also betting selectively. There is much room for improvement I feel and I thought it would be a good addition to my portfolio also.

        Anyway, perhaps our comments have got things going. Coz as from this morning I was unable to access the site on my computer or phone, so maybe those changes we spoke of are happening as we speak – touch wood or the service is being removed.

        Andrew

        PS Your ROI is very good so far especially the way you are betting. I think I i’ll take a leaf out of your book especially with Crimbo round the corner when the site is up & running again. GL

Comments are closed.