Placepot Pointers

Placepot pointers – Monday 1st February


Last year’s corresponding toteplacepot dividend:
2015: £53.20 (8 favourites: 3 winners--3 placed--2 unplaced)
Your first 30 days for just £1

2.00: Some January stats and facts to start with at Wolverhampton, mainly because it's worth reporting that 37% of the Placepot races at Dunstall Park were won by favourites during the first month of the year, when nine meetings were staged.  That said, 24/37 market leaders which failed to win finished out of the frame.  The biggest Placepot dividend of £862.80 was declared on the 18th of the month, whereas the lowest return of £14.10 was paid out at the last meeting on Friday.  Regular readers will know that I concentrate on pilots as much (if not more) than the horses in these amateur rider events, whereby this year's short list consists of FAIRY FOXGLOVE, HAB REEH and (to a lesser degree) PANCAKE DAY.  The trio is listed in order of preference at the overnight stage.
Favourite factor: Four of the last 10 favourites have finished in the frame (exact science), statistics which include three winners.
Wolverhampton record of course winners in the opening event:
3/14--Hab Reeh (C&D winner)
1/1--Fairy Foxglove
1/6--Pull The Pin
2/6--Warm Order
2/11--Dream Ally (Dual C&D winner)

2.35: Richard Hannon scored with the winning favourite last year and with the trainer having saddled three of his last five runners to winning effect, Richard's two runners on the card deserve respect on Monday.  The first of them is TOLEDO is this event, albeit the official ratings suggest that JEANIE'S PLACE and ZEEONEANDONLY have the terms and conditions in their favour.  The latter named David Evans raider scored of this (74) mark at Lingfield on his penultimate start, whilst Jeanie's Place has not been beaten too far on her two previous starts at this venue.  CROSS EXAMINE is not entirely ruled out of the equation at the overnight stage.  

Favourite factor: Favourites have won six of the last eight contests, coming to the gig on a four timer on this occasion.  The biggest priced winner during the period was returned at 15/2, though just one of the other three market leaders added to the Placepot successes of the favourites.
Wolverhampton record of course winners in the second race:
1/2--Bahamian Sunshine
3.10: Four-year-olds have won five of the last seven renewals, coming into this year's contest on a four timer.  Five of the last six gold medallists carried a minimum weight of 9-1 and putting all the stats and facts together, WAVELET is the only horse in the field with ticks in both boxes.  The other four-year-old declaration is Gordon Elliott's LADT FANDANGO who might be added to the Placepot mix on Monday despite being the wrong side of the 'superior weight' barrier.  TIJUCA and CELESTIAL BAY are others to consider over your favourite late night tipple/early morning beverage. 
Favourite factor: Four of the seven market have secured toteplacepot positions, statistics which include two (13/8 & 10/11) winning favourites.
Wolverhampton record of course winners in the third contest:
1/7--Celestial Bay (C&D winner)
3.40:  The second of the two Richard Hannon declarations runs here with course and distance winner RITASUN possibly having more of an obvious chance of scoring compared to Toledo earlier on the card.  That said, connections of fellow Course and distance winner ZAINAT will argue their case, notwithstanding the Roger Varian raider NEZWAAH who created a good impression when landing the odds at Chelmsford on debut.
Favourite factor: Five of the last six favourites have won this event, with market leaders coming to the gig on a four timer on this occasion.  The last six (of seven in total) favourites have secured Placepot positions, whilst the biggest priced winner was returned at just 5/1.
Wolverhampton record of course winners in the fourth race on the card:
1/1--Zainat (C&D winner)
1/2--Ritasun (C&D winner)

4.10: INDIA'S SONG is 'only' nine pound pounds higher than when winning the first of her recent successive victories and with a decent seven pound claimer in the saddle who has eight winners to her name, David Simcock's Zamindar mare is the first name on the team sheet.  The fact that David has saddled six winners via a 22% strike rate of late adds confidence, especially as David has secured 12 points of level stake profits into the bargain during the period.  OAKLEY GIRL and PRETTY BUBBLES are feared most, that latter name raider because John Jenkins comes here on a hat trick (16/1 & 7/2 winners these last few days) with his only runner on the card.  
Favourite factor: This is a new event on the Wolverhampton card.
Wolverhampton record of course winners in the fifth event:
1/1--Oakley Girl (C&D winner)
1/1--Lady Marl
1/2--Abbey Angel (C&D winner)
1/1--Mitre Peak
1/2--Assault On Rome

4.45: The somewhat surprising name to create headlines in the toteplacepot finale is trainer Daniel (Mark) Loughnane who has saddled four winners (7/4* -7/2-11/2-7/1) from just eight runners during the last three meetings at Wolverhampton, snaring at least one winner at each meeting.  Daniel has offered the green light to his Amadeus Wolf representative ALWAYS ENDEAVOUR here, whilst his other runner on the card is Logans Lad in the seventh (and final) event beyond the Placepot analysis.  That raider is due to be ridden by Luke Morris who partners James Tate's Kheleyf newcomer GRECIAN KING in this contest.  Others to consider include BEST NEW SHOW and MONPAZIER representing Karl Burke who has won with three of the last eight runners he has saddled.

Favourite factor: Last year's inaugural 7/2 joint favourites filled the forecast positions. 

All references to placed horses on these pages are based on an exact science regarding general place terms offered by bookmakers and
Trainers with their relevant number of runners on the Wolverhampton card on Monday:
5--Richard Fahey
3--Karl Burke
3--Tony Carroll
3--David Evans
3--David Simcock
2--Michael Appleby
2--Alan Berry
2--Clive Cox
2--Conor Dore
2--Gordon Elliott
2--Ed de Giles
2--Rochard Hannon
2--Daniel Mark Loughnane
2--Phil McEntee
2--Jamie Osborne
2--James Tate
2--Stuart Williams
1--John Berry
1--Roy Brotherton
1--Ruth Carr
1--Tony Coyle
1--Heather Dalton
1--Kevin Frost
1--John Jenkins
1--Mark Johnston
1--Christopher Kellett
1--Sylvester Kirk
1--Bernard Llewellyn
1--Rod Millman
1--Gary Moore
1--Patrick Morris
1--P J F Murphy
1--David Nicholls
1--John David Riches
1--Lynn Siddall
1--Roger Varian
1--Jason Ward
1--John Weymes
62 declared runners
Your first 30 days for just £1