Placepot Pointers

Placepot pointers – Thursday 18th February



Last year’s corresponding toteplacepot dividend:

2015: £88.60 (7 favourites: 2 winners--2 placed--3 unplaced)


2.10: Starting by simply confirming that there is a precautionary 7.30 inspection at Leicester on Thursday morning.  Six of the nine winners have carried weights of 11-6 or more which directs me towards the chances of GOLD INGOT and GALLIC WARRIOR. Dual winner GOLD INGOT has gained his successes on good and soft ground, whilst Caroline Bailey got back in the winning groove with her penultimate raider a couple of weeks back.  It's a rare event when Caroline has the most runners at a meeting (three declarations on Thursday) and she can start the day by greeting a winner.  Fellow nine-year-old GALLIC WARRIOR is saddled by Fergal O'Brien who has place seven of his last nine runners to finish 'in the three'. statistics which include two winners.

Favourite factor: Two favourites have scored via nine renewals.  Five of the 10 favourites have finished in the money.



2.45:  Kerry Lee boasts a 25% strike rate via 14 winners since the end of October, results which have produced 43 points of level stake profits.  Kerry saddles JAYO TIME with useful claimer Ciaran Gethings in the plate.  Ciaran has ridden two of his last three mounts to winning effect, whilst his record for Kerry Lee over fences stands at 3/9.  ALL TOGTHER is marginally preferred to TRUCKWERS HIGHWAY as the main threat in this three runner 'win only' event.

Leicester record of course winners in the second contest on the card:

1/1--Truckers Highway (C&D winner)



3.20: The course and distance stats have gone a little 'politically correct' since the disnaces where brought into 'exact affect' last year.  Milanos (as an example) is not listed as a course sand distance winner in the trade press, yet his two victories at the track have been gained over and additional...wait for it, 19 yards, which is why I am declaring that in essence, the eight-year-old deserve to have the C/D letters after his name at Leicester.  I have to be politically correct myself in declaring these are my views, and not necessarily those of the Geegeez!  Either way, ENTRY TO EVRYWHERE is expected to get the better of Tony Carroll's representative on this occasion.

Favourite factor: The inaugural 7/4 market leader secured the silver medal alongside a toteplacepot position before last year's (5/2) joint favourites could only muster a silver medal between them.

Leicester record of course winners in the third race:

2/2--Malanos (Dual C&D winner)

1/1--Global Dream



3.55: David Pipe has his team in half decent form (conveniently ignoring nine beaten favourites in February) whereby PRIDEOFTHECASTLE is the first name on the team sheet.  Venetia Williams has saddled plenty of winners of this track down the years and there will be worse outsiders on the card than stable representative VIVACCIO I'll wager.  STILETTO completes my trio against the other five contenders in this 'dead eight' event.

Favourite factor: The 2014 inaugural 15/8 favourite finished out of the money in third place in another 'short field' line up.  Last year's 2/1 market leader secured a Placepot position when snaring the bronze medal.

Leicester record of course winners in the fourth event:


2/4--Valid Point (C&D winner)


Your first 30 days for just £1


4.30: CARLTON RYAN is the only relevant horse representing the eight-year-old vintage which has secured five of the eight renewals of this Hunter Chase event to date.  The Easterby raider should take the beating, albeit BIG GEORGE cannot be discounted at the overnight stage.

Favourite factor: Six of the eight renewals have seen secured by favourites whilst the other gold medallists was returned at 3/1 and 8/1  .All eight jollies secured toteplacepot positions.



5.00: WAYWARD FROLIC is the only course winner in the field which is a race which carries no trends, is at least some of sort of 'edge' to cling on to.  Others of interest this side of midnight include VIRTUOSE DU CHENET and EXPANDING UNIVERSE

Favourite factor: The toteplacepot finale is another new race on the Leicester card.

Leicester record of course winners in the toteplacepot finale:

1/1--Wayward Frolic (C&D winner)


All references to placed horses on these pages are based on an exact science regarding general place terms offered by bookmakers and


Trainers with their relevant number of runners on the Leicester card on Thursday: 

3--Caroline Bailey

2--Tony Carroll

2--John Groucott

2--Kerry Lee

2--Fergal O'Brien

2--Nigel Twiston-Davies

2--Venetia Williams

1--Emma Baker

1--Jim Best

1--Jennie Candlish

1--Robin Dickin

1--Alexandra Dunn

1--Mrs Sarah Easterby

1--Johnny Farrelly

1--Gail Haywood

1--Fred Hutsby

1--Sean Mullins

1--Paul Nicholls

1--David Pipe

1--Mark Pitman

1--S Rea

1--J M Ridley

1--Sam Thomas

1--Robert Walford

1--Miss L Wallace

33 declared runners


Your first 30 days for just £1