Placepot Pointers

Placepot pointers – Tuesday 16th February


Last year’s corresponding toteplacepot dividend:

2015: £49.20 (6 favourites: No winners - 3 placed - 3 unplaced)

2.00: Michael Appleby has six runners on the card (five last year when landing a 269/1 treble) and MARMOOZ starts the ball rolling in the opening event with a toteplacepot claim.  MEEBO is another each way option, though YOUR LUCKY DAY and ARIZONA SNOW are arguably more logical winners in the field.
Favourite factor: Only two (15/8 & 7/2**) favourites have obliged via the 11 renewals, whilst just five market leaders secured toteplacepots during the period. That said, 10 of the 11 gold medallists were returned at a top price of 7/1.

Southwell record of course winners in the opening event:


1/3--Arizona Snow (C&D winner)

4/28--Upper Lambourn (Dual C&D winner)



2.35: The three course and distance winners in the line-up will surely get us through to the third leg, if we I have room to include the trio in our permutation come sun up.  In order of preference, RUPERT BOY, CARBUTT'S RIDGE and KEMSING are the three relevant declarations.
Favourite factor: This is a new race on the Southwell card.

Southwell record of course winners in the second race:

2/3--Kemsing (C&D winner)

1/5--Rupert Boy (C&D winner)

1/3--Carbutt's Ridge (C&D winner)



3.05: RED UNICO attempts to follow up Michael Appleby's win this race twelve months, though with five-year-olds having won three of the four renewals to date, the two relevant entries look each way options, namely BEST TAMAYUZ and MOONLIGHT VENTURE.  The overnight reserve nomination is awarded to THE FIRM given his decent track record (see stats below).

Favourite factor: We still await the first success market leader following four renewals.  Two of the five favourites have finished in the frame to date.

Southwell record of course winners in the third event on the card:

2/10--Llewellyn (Dual C&D winner)

1/10--Clockmaker (C&D winner)

1/5--Afkar (C&D winner)

8/50--Alpha Tauri (C&D x 6)

3/12--Best Tamayuz (C&D winner)

2/8--Moonlight Venture (C&D winner)

2/3--The Firm

1/1--Make On Madam

3/13--Stun Gun (Dual C&D winner)



3.40: IAN'S MEMORY brings a 100% venue record to the gig and Jeremy Noseda's top weight could take the beating despite a rise of 19 pounds during the last year. Others for the overnight mix include MR BOSSY BOOTS and PHILBA.  The first named Ralph Beckett raider is particularly interesting given his rider's five pound claim which could make the difference between merely securing a toteplacepot position and winning this Class 3 event.
Favourite factor: Four of the five market leaders have claimed toteplacepot positions thus far, the lone winner having scored two years ago at 5/4.

Southwell record of course winners in the fourth contest:

3/3--Ian's Memory (C&D winner)

1/2--Westwood Hoe (C&D winner)

1/2--Zaeem (C&D winner)

3/5--Philba (Dual C&D winner)

7/13--Dubai Hills (C&D winner x 5)

Your first 30 days for just £1



4.15: Ralph Beckett's other representative on Tuesday is RAIN IN THE FACE who ran well when touched off by a head on season on debut at Southwell. MASTERFUL MAN attracts the eye on a number of counts, not least because the 21-year-old dam Lamanka Lass boasts the Group 2 winner Dark Islander among her offspring, whilst MR BOOMER and FOUR MILE BEACH are other newcomers to consider.
Favourite factor: Four of the last six market leaders have obliged, whilst six of the 10 favourites to date have secured toteplacepot position.  That said, the six horses that won who were not returned as market leaders scored at 66/1-33/1-9/1-7/1-6/1-5/4.




4.50: Nine gold medallists carried a minimum burden of 8-13, whilst five-year-olds have won five renewals during the last decade.  Richard Guest's CHAUVELIN will hopefully prove to be the pick of the five-year-olds running from the superior sector of the handicap, whilst KELLY'S FINEST and THANK YOU VERY MUCH (off the track for 10 months) also are worth perusing over your favourite late night tipple/early morning beverage.
Favourite factor: Three favourites have won during the last decade, whilst six market leaders secured Placepot positions.


Southwell record of course winners in the toteplacepot positions:

1/5--Arsenale (C&D winner)


All references to placed horses on these pages are based on an exact science regarding general place terms offered by bookmakers and


Trainers with their relevant number of runners on the Southwell card on Tuesday:

6--Michael Appleby

3--Ivan Furtado

2--David Barron

2--Ralph Beckett

2--Karl Burke

2--Scott Dixon

2--Jeremy Noseda

1--Alan Bailey

1--James Bethell

1--Roy Bowring

1--W P Browne

1--Jenny Candlish

1--Ruth Carr

1--Declan Carroll

1--Lee Carter

1--Michael Chapman

1--Tony Coyle

1--Keith Dalgleish

1--Heather Dalton

1--John Davies

1--Conor Dore

1--Chris Dwyer

1--Les Eyre

1--Richard Fahey

1--Julia Feilden

1--Richard Guest

1--Ron Harris

1--John Jenkins

1--Mark Johnston

1--Christopher Kellett

1--Daniel Mark Loughnane

1--David Loughname

1--Phil McBride

1--Paul Midgley

1--David Nicholls

1--David O'Meara

1--Deborah Sanderson

1--George Scott

1--Derek Shaw

1--Charles Smith

53 declared runners


Your first 30 days for just £1