Placepot Pointers

Placepot pointers – Wednesday 24th February



Last year’s corresponding toteplacepot dividend:

2015: £51.20 (6 favourites: 4 winners--1 placed--1 unplaced)


2.10: Six-year-olds have won four of the last seven renewals and with eight of the 11 declarations representing the vintage this time around, the trend looks set to continue.  BUGSIE MALONE and ROYAL MILAN and two likely types this time around, with BRYDEN BOY added to the overnight Placepot mix.

Favourite factor: Seven of the last eight favourites have secured toteplacepot positions, statistics which include four (13/8-11/10-5/6-4/6) winners.


2.40: Horses towards the top of the weights dominated last year's finish and the same scenario could unfold 12 months on with the recent Taunton winner VENDREDI TROIS having a definite claim, whilst each way types such as VICE ET VIRTU and BEARS RAILS are included in the general equation.

Favourite factor: Last year's inaugural 9/4 market leader duly obliged.

Ludlow record of course winners in the second race:



3.10: Seven-year-olds have secured five of the last 12 available toteplacepot positions, stats which include two of the four winners (11/2 & 3/1), whilst an ‘industry forecast’ paid 970/1 during the period via vintage representatives.  Johnny Farrelly is the only trainer who is seemingly wise to the trends with DEGOOCH being the lone vintage representative on this occasion.  Johnny's Gamut gelding has finished ' in the three' in 12 of his 17 races thus far, winning on no less than five occasions.  Others to consider over your favourite late night tipple/early morning beverage include CAPE CASTER and BLACKFIRE.  There will be worse outsiders on the card than POLITICAL QUIZ I'll wager.

Favourite factor: Four of the nine market leaders have finished in the frame thus far (exact science), statistics which include one (6/4) winner.

Ludlow record of course winners in the third contest on the card:

1/3--Hill Fort (C&D winner)


3.40: Horses aged in double figures have won four of the last five renewals of this event and last year's gold medallist KERRYHEAD STORM is one of just two relevant 'qualifiers' this time around.  Seven-year-olds have otherwise held the call in recent years and both of this year's entries hold Placepot claims at the very least, namely TRAPPER PEAK and OFICIAL BEN.

Favourite factor: Eight of the 11 market leaders have finished in the frame to date, statistics which include one (4/6) winner.

Ludlow record of course winners in the fourth event:

1/6--Kerryhead Storm (C&D winner)

1/3--Bobble Boru


4.15: Six-year-olds come to the gig on a hat trick via just three renewals to date, with ZANSTRA being one of just two relevant entries.  Colin Tizzard has his team in fine form and it would come as no surprise to yours truly if the vintage ratio was increased on Wednesday. If ZANSTRA is to be denied, MIGHTY LEADER and CHARLIE COOK are classed as the main dangers.  BADGERS COVE is quoted as a 20/1 chance in the trade press overnight and whilst Robin Dickin's raider has not seen a racecourse for very nearly two years, it's worth noting his 2/2 record at this venue.

Favourite factor: The two 4/1 joint favourites finished down the field behind horses returned at 14/1-7/1-7/1 in the inaugural contest, whilst the 2014 market leader also finished out with the washing having been sent off at 7/2.  Last year's 2/1 favourite repaired some the damage by hacking up for Dan Skelton's team.

Ludlow record of course winners in the fifth race:

1/6--Lava Lamp

2/2--Badgers Cove (Dual C&D winner)

1/2--Fishing Bridge


4.50: TWIRLING MAGNET has failed to win in four assignments since following up a win in this event last year when scoring at Newbury five weeks later. This looks to be a warmer contest however, especially with MENDIP EXPRESS having been declared to run by Philip Hobbs.

Favourite factor: Six of the seven winners have been returned at a top price of 9/2 (two successful favourites), whilst the other gold medallist was hardly a 'skinner' in the books having scored at 8/1.

Ludlow record of course winners in the toteplacepot finale:

1/1--Twirling Magnet (C&D winner)




All references to placed horses on these pages are based on an exact science regarding general place terms offered by bookmakers and

Your first 30 days for just £1



Trainers with their relevant number of runners on the Ludlow card on Wednesday:

5--Venetia Williams

4--Jonjo O'Neill

4--Tim Vaughan

3--Lady Susan Brooke

3--Nikki Evans

3--Steve Flook

3--Alex Hales

3--Philip Hobbs

3--Henry Oliver

3--Matt Sheppard

2--Jenny Candlish

2--Henry Daly

2--Sarah-Jayne Davies

2--Alexandra Dunn

2--Johnny Farrelly

2--John Flint

2--Fergal O'Brien

2--Alastair Ralph

2--Sally Randall

2--David Rees

2--Jamie Snowden

2--Tom Symonds

2--Colin Tizzard

2--Evan Williams

1--Kim Bailey

1--David Bridgwater

1--Miss V Collins

1--Robin Dickin

1--Seamus Durack

1--James Eustace

1--Sue Gardner

1--Tom George

1--John Groucott

1--Mrs Gillian Jones

1--Emma Lavelle

1--Bernard Llewellyn

1--Charlie Mann

1--Jane Mathias

1--Graeme McPherson

1--John Needham

1--Paul Nicholls

1--Ben Pauling

1--Ian Pritchard

1--Mrs D J Ralph

1--Mrs C J Robinson

1--G Slade-Jones

1--Henry Tett

1--P P C Turner

1--Nigel Twiston-Davies

1--Trevor Wall

1--Tom Weston

59 declared runners


Your first 30 days for just £1