Ascot’s Triennial Stakes and its progeny

Dibs beats indian Runner and Alistair in 1907

Royal Ascot has a long tradition of welcoming horses year after to year to contest major championship races. From 1849 up until the First World War this was done through a series of three races known as the Triennial Stakes, with that name appearing three times on the racecard during Ascot week. Read more