Tag Archive for: Best Betting Website

Geegeez Wins Full Set of Medals at SBC Awards

The votes have been counted - more than 5000 of them - for the influential SBC Betting Awards and geegeez.co.uk managed a full set of medals across the three categories in which the site was nominated.

Gold was achieved in the inaugural year of a new category, 'Best Betting Data Resource', where geegeez.co.uk scooped more than a quarter of the votes. That was almost double the second placed site, Proform, with football site WhoScored.com back in third. No other nominee polled more than 7.25% of votes.

In the flagship award of 'Best Betting Website', geegeez.co.uk was pipped at the post by Oddschecker.com and thus took silver in a category they'd dominated hitherto, winning for the previous five years. This was a fiercely contested award, as it should be, and the winner - the pre-eminent odds comparison portal - scooped 17.83% of votes. That was a short head in front of geegeez's 16.52%, with RacingPost.com (13.02%) rounding out the podium. Further back in the pack were AtTheRaces.com (10.55%) and Betting.Betfair.com (9.19%), with no other site claiming more than Matchbook's 6% of votes.

And, in the 'Best Betting Writer' category, geegeez.co.uk founder and chief correspondent, Matt Bisogno, received the bronze medal behind industry heavyweights Kevin Blake and Lydia Hislop. Blake, who writes for both Betfair and ATR, was a comfortable winner and polled 21.25% of the votes, ahead of Lydia Hislop's 16.33% for her written work on RacingTV.com and our own Matt who scored 15.1% of votes. Honourable mentions for the industrious Mark O'Haire, whose work for Matchbook, Betfair and WeLoveBetting netted him just shy of 12% of votes, while Simon Rowlands' excellent work bringing sectional timing information to life saw him take fifth in what was a hotly contested section, behind the winner at least.

Commenting on the awards, Bisogno said, "I was initially disappointed that geegeez.co.uk's winning run in the coveted Best Betting Website category has been halted; but to only just miss out to Oddschecker, and with such luminaries as RacingPost.com and AtTheRaces.com in our wake was still a very strong performance, reflecting the all round nature of content provision on the site. It's worth considering the size of the budgets those other entities have at their disposal compared with geegeez.co.uk and we continue to punch far above our weight. That's a massive credit to the small but amazing writing and development teams here".

"And, of course, it was brilliant - and a little unexpected - to be voted 'Best Betting Data Resource'. There were some excellent resources in the nominations and I know we'll need to continue to develop our offering if we hope to retain this award next year. I'm pleased to share that we have plans to significantly upgrade our Query Tool, which allows users to ask their own, increasingly complex (or simple!), questions, as well as introducing some further trends and profiling automation. I think the key, though, is that we work extremely hard to make data as easy to digest as possible, through the use of colour, charts and sortation: everything works straight out of the box but is also highly configurable for the more curious Geegeez user".

"With regards my own bronze medal in the 'Best Betting Writer' category, I'm both thrilled and a little embarrassed by this. 2021 was not a vintage year for my own writing, with the focus being on developing the website, so to barge into the top three, alongside and at the expense of some of the pens I respect most in the game, was a thrill. 2022 is allowing me more time to express myself on site, and I'll continue to do that for as long as readers are interested to read my bluster. Massive thanks to everyone who took time to vote for us in all three categories. Please know that we'll continue to work hard to enhance the breadth and quality of what is available on Geegeez".

The full list of awards, nominations and winners can be found at the SBC Awards page here >