Tag Archive for: HWPA Derby Awards

Geegeez Writer Shortlisted for Derby Award

Geegeez chief writer - and founder/creator - Matt Bisogno has been named on the four man shortlist for Specialist Writer of the Year at the presitigious Horseracing Writers & Photographers Association's Derby Awards.

Matt, who was also nominated last year - the first time this award was presented - is the only writer to have been nominated in both shortlists. He is joined in the Specialist Writer category by elite scribblers and multiple Derby Award winners, Chris McGrath and Bill Barber, as well as newcomer Franck Mourier.

Matt's submissions were:

This year's Derby Awards, normally held in a West London hotel after a copious lunch, will be presented virtually and broadcast on Attheraces from 3pm this afternoon.

Other categories include Racing Writer, Racing Reporter, Emerging Talent, Photographer, Broadcaster, and Photograph of the Year. The full list of categories and nominees is below.

Good luck to Matt this afternoon!

Racing Writer of the Year
David Carr
David Jennings
Peter Thomas
Jonathan Harding

Racing Reporter of the Year
Bill Barber
Chris Cook
Lewis Porteous
Lee Mottershead

Broadcaster of the Year
Ed Chamberlin
Niall Hannity
Nick Luck
Jamie Lynch

Specialist Writer
Bill Barber
Matt Bisogno
Chris McGrath
Franck Mourier

Emerging Talent
Adam Houghton
Callum Jamieson
Nick Seddon
Josh Stacey

Photographer of the Year
Mark Cranham
John Hoy
Tracy Roberts
Hugh Routledge

Picture of the Year
Francesca Altoft
John Hoy
Tony Knapton
Tracy Roberts

Flat Jockey of the Year
Hollie Doyle
Tom Marquand
William Buick
Jim Crowley

Flat Trainer of the Year
John Gosden
William Haggas
Aidan O’Brien
Marcus Tregoning

 Jump Jockey of the Year
Rachel Blackmore
Brian Hughes
Barry Geraghty
Paul Townend

Jump Trainer of the Year
Nicky Henderson
Willie Mullins
Paul Nicholls
Fergal O’Brien

Owner of the Year
Hamdan Al Maktoum
JP McManus
Marie & Joe Donnelly
La Pyle Partnership

International Trainer of the Year
James Fanshawe
William Haggas
John Gosden
Kevin Ryan